I live in a small city...

Publié le 27 Novembre 2014

I live in a small city...
 I live in a small city. I don't know anybody.
There is a music festival in another small village around.
How many were the chances of meeting somebody I hadn't talked or seen for 10 years?
 
I live in a small city far away from my roots... so far.... and yet....
I see symbols of Reunion spread over the town everyday.
Sometimes it is a sticker of the island on a car.
Sometimes it is the food & drinks they sell in the shops.
Sometimes it is the people speaking creole in the streets.
Why are there so many Reunionese things around?
 
I live in a small city in the North West of France, far away from my family, so far..... and yet...
How many were the probabilities of meeting my great uncle who lives 20 minutes away from here?
I had never met him before, and suddenly in the middle of nowhere, in an even smaller village, I feel like I'm back on Reunion.
I'm in a garden with banana trees and vegetables from Reunion.
At dinner, we eat a traditional reunionese meal with traditional drinks and as a dessert we have an enormous sweet papaya.
We speak Creole all along. I learn about myself. I learn about the past and my history.
 
I live in a small city where nothing really happens, nothing extraordinary and yet ....
How did I manage to reconnect with somebody from my childhood?
It had been so long I couldn't even remember his face. I didn't know what to say. I talked randomly trying to catch up all the years we had lost.
 
I live in a small city & I wish I could live somewhere bigger, livelier and yet...
Here I've reconnected with my lost friend. Here I've met my great uncle. Here I've learned about my ancestors, my grandparents. Here I've seen people I hadn't seen for 14 years.
Here where nothing really happens, all the past came back to me.All the people I had lost, are suddenly back.....here.
 
 
 
I live in a small city...

Rédigé par Melle Para

Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
P
J'apprécie votre blog , je me permet donc de poser un lien vers le mien .. n'hésitez pas à le visiter. <br /> Cordialement
Répondre